RSS

Raven’s Shadow-Prologue-Blood

01 Nov

There are so many humans around the first time the scent of an unchanged wolf wafts on the air towards me. The smell of crushed leaves is something that is not found in December in the North East of the Colonies. It’s a scent that I have not smelled in a very long time. I tend not to consort with wolves anymore. There is nothing to gain from them anymore. There is barely anything to gain from the witches either.

I turn the corner around the building and the scent intensifies. I catch another smell mixed in. I stop in my tracks and the humans around me disappear. That smell should not be on the wind. I look around to see if I can see anyone that I know but there is no one. I don’t know why I look around. I close my eyes and inhale. I try to take in as many smells as possible. I smell the overwhelming scent of decay and perfume, the smell of humans. Underneath that is the smell of crushed leaves and water. It’s strong. It’s not a remnant of the past. The family lives. 

The urge to run after the smell is strong but I know that I need to calm down first, I can feel the poke of my teeth against my lips, anymore and blood will be running down my face. I haven’t hunted for a long while and I could lose myself if I am not careful. There are hints of other things in the blood. He is older. In his twenties. The moon won’t rule him if he changed. That he still smells of crushed leaves means that he is a virgin. He can still change. That gives me hope but dread as well.

His trail has been crossed too many times by humans. I won’t be able to track him. I turn to head to my house. I can walk there in minutes. Before I enter I take another smell of the air. I can only smell the scent of the city. There are no wolves, no vampires, and no witches.

I held the smell of redemption in my nose and it got away. I’ll search the world over for him. I’ll find him. I’ll find my redemption. It’s my time to shine and my time to step out of the darkness.

Chapter One

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2013 in Ancient Mystics

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Raven’s Shadow-Prologue-Blood

  1. christella

    November 1, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    very interesting beginning

     
    • Mara Alten

      November 2, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Thank you. I am glad that you liked.

       
  2. unbroken_halo

    November 1, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Oh! Interesting start!

     
    • Mara Alten

      November 2, 2013 at 12:36 am

      Thanks. I am glad that you think so.

       
  3. Lilz54

    November 3, 2013 at 4:31 am

    Definitely caught my interest.

     
    • Mara Alten

      November 4, 2013 at 2:51 pm

      I am glad. I hope you like the rest of the story.

       

Leave a Reply

 
